48 - Old Burial Ground
The Old Burying Ground was founded in 1749, the same year as the settlement, as the town’s first burial ground. It was originally non-denominational and for several decades was the only burial place for all Haligonians. (The burial ground was also used by St. Matthew’s United Church (Halifax)). In 1793 it was turned over to the Anglican St. Paul’s Church. The cemetery was closed in 1844 and the Camp Hill Cemetery established for subsequent burials. The site steadily declined until the 1980s when it was restored and refurbished by the Old Burying Ground Foundation, which now maintains the site and employ tour guides to interpret the site in the summer. Ongoing restoration of the rare 18th century grave markers continues.
Over the decades some 12,000 people were interred in the Old Burial Ground. Today there are about 1,200 headstones, some having been lost and many others being buried with no headstone. Many notable residents are buried in the cemetery, including British Major General Robert Ross, who led the successful Washington Raid of 1814 and burned the White House before being killed in battle at Baltimore a few days later.
Commanders of three of the ships that served Governor Edward Cornwallis buried crew in unmarked graves: the HMS Sphynx (1 crew), the HMS Baltimore (1 crew) and the HMS Albany (6 crew). The HMS Sphynx was Cornwallis’ own ship and the crew member was buried on the day his ship arrived in Halifax on 21 June 1749. The HMS Albany was a 14 gun sloop commanded by the Nova Scotia’s senior naval officer John Rous (1749-1753).
There are four recorded Mi’kmaq buried in the burial ground, including a Mi’kmaw Chief Francis [Muir?]. There was also a “protestant indian” named John Tray, possibly from John Gorham’s rangers.
There are also 167 recorded Blacks buried in the graveyard, all with unmarked graves. (There is a grave marker, however, of the Huntingdonian Missionary who taught at the first school for Black students in Halifax, Reverend William Furmage.) Blacks arrived with New England Planters. During the arrival of the Planters, there were 54 Blacks in Halifax. 7 Blacks were buried in the cemetery from 1763-1775. Black Nova Scotians also arrived in Halifax with Boston Loyalists after the evacuation of Boston in 1776. During this period, 18 Blacks were buried in the cemetery (1776-1782). Seventy-three free Black Nova Scotians (and no slaves) also arrived in Halifax with the New York Loyalists after evacuation from New York in 1783. Of the 73 Blacks who arrived from New York, there were 4 burials that happened during this time period. Rev. John Breynton reported that in 1783 he baptized 40 Blacks and buried many because of disease. Between the years 1792-1817 there are no recorded burials of Black Nova Scotians. The largest number of burials happen in the 1820s (72 graves), presumably the graves of the 155 Black Refugees who arrived in Halifax during the War of 1812.
The last erected and most prominent burial marker is the Welsford-Parker Monument, a Triumphal arch standing at the entrance to the cemetery commemorating British victory in the Crimean War. This is the first public monument built in Nova Scotia and is the fourth oldest war monument in Canada. It is also the only monument to the Crimean War in North America. The arch was built in 1860, 16 years after the cemetery had officially closed. The arch was built by George Lang and is named after two Haligonians, Major Augustus Frederick Welsford and Captain William Buck Carthew Augustus Parker. Both Nova Scotians died in the Battle of the Great Redan during the Siege of Sevastopol (1854–1855). This monument was the last grave marker in the cemetery.
In 1938, the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts presented and dedicated a granite monument to Erasmus James Philipps, who is the earliest known settler of Nova Scotia (c. 1721) who was buried in the cemetery. He was also the founder of Freemasonry in present-day Canada (1737).
The Old Burying Ground was designated a National Historic Site of Canada in 1991. It had earlier been designated a Provincially Registered Property in 1988 under Nova Scotia’s Heritage Property Act.
65 - St. Mary's Basilica
The church has been significantly expanded and altered over time. Originally constructed of wood, it was replaced by a stone structure beginning in 1820 inspired (as were many churches of the day) by Saint Martin in the Fields in London. It was expanded to its present size beginning in 1869, according to designs of Patrick Keely who introduced the Gothic Revival facade and spire. Besides the Gothic features, the spire also includes Norman and Germanic design elements.
The facade and spire are notable for being built entirely of granite. All of the stone was locally obtained, except for the three portals which have a jamb shaft of pink Aberdeen granite. The spire has a height of 189 feet (58 m).
56 - Provincial Court House
The Halifax Provincial Court is a courthouse on Spring Garden Road in Halifax, Nova Scotia.
The first trial was heard in October 1860, and it remains today a functioning courthouse. The Supreme Court sat for the first time in the newly built Halifax County courthouse on Spring Garden Road in October 1860. Home of Supreme Court of Nova Scotiauntil 1960 when the building temporarily became the Provincial Library and then the home of the Provincial Court in 1971. The most recent renovations to the building were completed in 1985.
TUNS was officially founded as the Nova Scotia Technical College on 25 April 1907. On 1 April 1997 it was merged into Dalhousie University. The former TUNS campus is now called the Sexton Campus, in honour of Dr. Frederick Sexton, founding principal of the Nova Scotia Technical College.
42 -Neptune Theatre
Neptune Theatre opened in 1963. Inspires our audiences with great stories. We see ourselves as an enduring cultural organization that enriches our community across the Atlantic Region, earning a national reputation through artistic and creative excellence in our programming and the practice of our craft.
64 - St. Davids Church
The Grafton Street Methodist Church is located atop a hill on Grafton Street in downtown Halifax, Nova Scotia. This Victorian Gothic style church was designed by David Stirling and built in 1868-1869. There is a small cemetery beside the church and the remains of Reverend William Black lie beneath the church. The building, cemetery and property are included in the provincial designation.
27 - Halifax Central Library
The Halifax Central Library is a public library in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada on the corner of Spring Garden Road and Queen Street. It serves as the flagship library of the Halifax Public Libraries, replacing the Spring Garden Road Memorial Library.
A new central library was discussed by library administrators for several decades and approved by the regional council in 2008. The architects, a joint venture between local firm Fowler Bauld and Mitchell and Schmidt Hammer Lassen of Denmark, were chosen in 2010 through an international design competition. Construction began later that year on a prominent downtown site that had been a parking lot for half a century.
The new library opened in December 2014 and has become a highly popular gathering place. In addition to a book collection significantly larger than that of the former library, the new building houses a wide range of amenities including cafés, an auditorium, and community rooms. The striking architecture is characterised by the fifth floor’s cantilever over the entrance plaza, a central atrium criss-crossed by staircases, and the building’s transparency and relationship to the urban context.
The library won a Lieutenant Governor’s Design Award in Architecture for 2014 and a Governor General’s Medal in Architecture in 2016.
City Centre Atlantic
Dresden Row Market, located in City Centre Atlantic, offers a unique shopping experience. Our retailers include Pete’s Frootique, a popular grocery emporium, and specialty retailers including Atlantic Photo Supply, The Suitor Company, 2008 New Century Trading,Cucina Moderna, Premier Wines & Sprits, Pete’s Cafe, Koo-E Nami & Royale Korean Cuisine.
Make a special stop at Dresden Row Market for all your specialty needs.
Spring Garden Place
Experience vibrant and cultivated shops, services and dining options in the heart of downtown Halifax at Spring Garden Place.
Enjoy a unique mall-meets-boutique atmosphere where you’ll find 24 retailers offering a great variety of retail, services and delectable dining from stylish fashion and floral to jewellery, spa treatments and cuisine for all tastes.
So come on, take a walk on over and experience the hustle and bustle of our great city and shop with flair.
Park Lane Mall is ideally situated on Spring Garden Road at the foot of The Halifax Citadel, just a block away from the famous Victorian Public Gardens Park Lane boasts 600 on-site parking spaces, a GoodLife Fitness centre, and Cineplex, featuring eight screens and stadium seating. With over 40 shops and services, there’s something for everyone at Park Lane.
Park Lane Terraces is the seven-storey office tower located above the retail levels.
Halifax Public Gardens
The Public Gardens encompass 16 acres and are bounded by Spring Garden Road, South Park Street, Summer Street and Sackville Street. They are open annually from approximately May 1 until November 1. The landscaping style is Victorian formal and provides a popular setting for wedding and prom photos. In addition to statues and extensive flower beds, there are three fountains, two stone bridges, three ponds (one large and two small), and a small concession building (located in the original Horticultural Hall). The gardens also feature a bandstand that is used for free public concerts on Sunday afternoons during the summer. There are celebrations in the gardens every year on Canada day (July 1) and Natal Day (the first Monday in August).
In the past, many people enjoyed feeding the ducks who make the gardens their home, although it is now prohibited.
The Public Gardens were badly damaged by Hurricane Juan in 2003. Many trees were destroyed, necessitating the early closure of the gardens and some redesign. The gardens reopened on Canada Day, 2004 after a restoration aided in part by $1 million which was raised during a radio telethon.